Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: How to install new track location in rFactor 1 system

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    5

    How to install new track location in rFactor 1 system

    Newbie here. I have the files for a new track and have created a new folder for this location under "Locations" but this track is not being recognised when I start up the game. How do I install it properly? Thank you.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    423
    Depends how the track's files were structured. Sometimes they need to go into a new folder, and sometimes they just go straight into the locations folder. Assuming the files were in an archive (zip, rar, etc) what did you see when you opened it up?

    May also help to show/indicate the folder structure for the track as you have it, starting at Locations.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Lazza View Post
    Depends how the track's files were structured. Sometimes they need to go into a new folder, and sometimes they just go straight into the locations folder. Assuming the files were in an archive (zip, rar, etc) what did you see when you opened it up?

    May also help to show/indicate the folder structure for the track as you have it, starting at Locations.
    Thanks for your help.

    I have made a new folder "Sepang" with another sub-folder also called "Sepang" as this is how the other tracks are setup.

    Hopefully the screen shot shows up in this post......Here is what it looks like with the track files:

    Attachment 21052

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    423
    Ok, if that's the only way you've tried it I would definitely try moving all those files into the first Sepang folder. If you open up the .scn file in notepad (or similar editor) you might find a clue, as up near the top should be some SearchPath= entries.

    Quite often a track archive just needs to be extracted directly to the Locations folder. The danger is when it's not, and you do that, you can end up with its files all over the place in there. But with it having its own Sepang folder I'd say that's probably the issue.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    4
    Also check the filter properties in the GDB file (open with notepad). This line restricts tracks to certain vehicles. This line is from Mills Long. It allows the 4 entries.

    Filter Properties = RoadCourse 2005 SRGrandPrix OWChallenge

    Add an asterisk to allow any vehicle on the track or add the mod you want.

    Filter Properties = RoadCourse 2005 SRGrandPrix OWChallenge *
    Filter Properties = RoadCourse 2005 SRGrandPrix OWChallenge F12017

Similar Threads

  1. How to install a new track
    By Coolvet in forum rFactor 1 General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-31-2017, 01:04 PM
  2. Unable to install Calabogie Motorsports Track
    By romanz202 in forum rFactor 1 Technical Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-28-2015, 06:40 AM
  3. Creating Track Location Folders
    By DougWG in forum rFactor 1 General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-12-2014, 01:26 PM
  4. rFactor KERS/DRS System on a custom track
    By markshires in forum rFactor 1 Modding
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-02-2012, 11:48 AM
  5. RFactor Pro DVD install vs Download install Is one better???
    By velo in forum rFactor 1 Technical Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-23-2010, 05:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •