Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: just purchased dvd version of game - 1.255 - bugs experienced

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4

    just purchased dvd version of game - 1.255 - bugs experienced

    First time really playing the game, and I've had nothing but headaches since I installed it. It seems that every time I try to advance onto the "next" race, it shows me what track it is (in season), but it always loads "Joesville".. Example. I'm running the "ZR Challenge" series ,but every race is at Joesville. I'm supposed to be on race 3, but it goes right back to joesville! After being frustrated even more, I quit the game.

    Nothing makes sense. My first run in the game, I started the "Rhez Amateur Derby", won the race, upgraded a few things and quit the game to do some things.

    Now, all progress is lost on my "ZR Challenge series", and I'm back to being on the "Rhez Amateur Derby" season. And the second race is, you guessed it, Joesville.

    Bought off of Amazon.com.

    OS: Windows 7 ultimate 64 bit.

    Any help is greatly appreciated at this point, very frustrating.

  2. #2
    Sounds like rFactor isn't able to write to your user folder. Try running as Admin?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4
    Thanks for the support, but this game is way too frustrating to say the very least.

    That seems to have fixed it, however, this game is way too frustrating to keep me interested in the game or further diagnosing it(driving "realism").

    again, thanks for the support.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    5
    The issue in this case isn't the game. It's Windows 7. You have to consider how Windows 7 works when installing any application or you will run into the same issue.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4
    Actually, this is the only game that I have that issue with. I have absolutely no problem with any other racing sim like GTR or GTR2.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    5
    The issue is that the user folder requires certain permissions. If the application writes there you will have to run it as admin or change the location. I've run into the issue with plenty of programs, not just games. However, I do not have this problem with rfactor. What directory did you install it to?

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4
    my x86 folder, like everything else. Again, I have no problem with any other games, or programs for that matter.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    14
    If you installed the game in Program Files (or Program Files (x86)) you'll probably need to run the game as admin. Changes done inside those folders require admin rights and rFactors stores the user data within the installation directory unlike many other games which store them inside my documents or on other places.

    Actually I find this quite good, because if you install the game on another drive than C, you won't loose any settings if you reinstall your computer.

Similar Threads

  1. Gameplay bugs (Any that aren't included in the Known Bug Report)
    By Barking Sands in forum Rogue System Bug Reports
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-24-2017, 12:37 PM
  2. Just purchased the game
    By TinoM in forum rFactor 1 Technical Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-09-2016, 12:17 AM
  3. Miscellaneous bugs
    By curiousepic in forum Rogue System Bug Reports
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-12-2015, 10:31 PM
  4. Recrouting experienced car modder *PAID*
    By gibbage in forum Modding - Cars
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-19-2013, 07:49 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-29-2012, 06:20 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •