Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27

Thread: A few newbie questions

  1. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    47
    I've just tried to rename the file with all the old game data in it and created a shortcut to the desktop, but when I click on this it doesn't load the 'old' game - just opens the folder again...

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    110
    Hello 65GTO,

    1. Go back to the c://program files/rfactor folder.
    2. Look for for an orange and black icon labelled RFACTOR, using your right mouse button click on it. Windows should open a small list of options.
    3. Click on CREATE SHORTCUT. I think it should give you the option to create a new shortcut on the desktop.

    If that works, yes you should be back to where you were before you tried to install rfactor light. Hopefully this time it will give you an error message so we can work out the problem.

  3. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    47
    Thanks Mangoletsi (as in Knutsford Alfa Romeo by any chance??)

    I followed your advice above, but when I clicked on the rfactor icon on my desktop it opened the 'new' (bare) install

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    110
    Quote Originally Posted by 65GTO View Post
    Thanks Mangoletsi (as in Knutsford Alfa Romeo by any chance??)

    I followed your advice above, but when I clicked on the rfactor icon on my desktop it opened the 'new' (bare) install
    Not related to Knutsford

    I'm kind of stuck now because I dont use Windows 7, all I can suggest is to copy the whole rfactor folder from c://program files/ to the desktop to bypass the Windows 7 security setings. Then make a new short cut to that instead.
    Hoping a Windows 7 user will know more.

    Mango

  5. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    47
    Thanks Mango'

    Sadly I'm out of my depth in terms of copying folders and so on. Fed up now so might have to sack rfactor and settle for GT5 or something like that.....

  6. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    110
    Sorry, I should of explained better.

    1. go to c://program files/ and find the rfactor folder.
    2. Use the right mouse button and click on the rfactor folder.
    (It should open a little menu list)
    3. click on copy with your left mouse button.
    (close the folder view so your on the desktop)
    4. Move the mouse into a blank part of the desktop and press the right mouse button.
    (It should open a little menu list)
    5. Use the left mouse button and press paste.

    You should now have an rfactor folder with all your mods and tracks on your desktop. If you open it and double click on the rfactor program, hopefully it will start and all your mods will be inside.


    Mango

  7. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    47
    Hi Mango'

    I followed your instructions and everything worked except when I click on the rfactor program in the new folder on the desktop, the rectangular rfactor 'opening' starts up.......and then closes on its own.

    Can't express how much I wish I'd left the thing alone in the first place and just suffered all the bugs. Lesson learned

  8. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    110
    Hmm, ok didnt expect that.

    I think it can only be 1 of 2 things causing that problem.

    1st. My instinct is saying your player profile is trying to load something, but cant find it and crashes.
    FIX = open the UserData folder in the rfactor folder, drag your player named folder out of the rfactor folder onto the desktop. Start rfactor which should ask you to create a new player profile. exit rfactor and put your player folder back in. Then start rfactor again, and switch back to your player profile whilst in the game.

    2nd. Unlikely, but you may need to run config from the start/all programs/rfactor/config.

  9. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    47
    I found the folder named after me and dragged it onto the desktop. I then opened rfactor from the file i added to the desktop earlier, but the same thing happened - it seemed to think about opening but didn't.

    I'll try the config thing but I don't really understand it.

  10. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    47
    I ound the rfactor config bit, opened it and saw a small window. There was an 'ok' button in the bottom right corner which I clicked but the windonw closed and nothing else happened. Is this right?

Similar Threads

  1. PC gaming newbie
    By VAustinElly in forum Hardware Building/Buying/Usage Advice
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 03-27-2016, 04:47 AM
  2. Help for a newbie...
    By Squiffy in forum rFactor 1 General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-24-2015, 06:35 PM
  3. newbie help and questions
    By gumpboy45 in forum rFactor 1 General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-14-2014, 09:48 AM
  4. Hi guys, Newbie here, looking for similar car to my own
    By jacko996 in forum rFactor 1 General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-12-2013, 01:31 PM
  5. A few newbie questions...
    By 65GTO in forum rFactor 1 Technical Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-13-2012, 08:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •