Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 28

Thread: Performance tweaks

  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    386
    Quote Originally Posted by 6e66o View Post
    Thats right,
    but as long as the software (rFactor) is limited you wont take full advantage of a 64bit OS.

    Just try loading as much (different) cars on track as you can (with maximum details).
    Eventually you will get a runtime error.
    After using this "4gb patch", the number of cars you can load, before rfactor crashes, will definitely increase.
    If I can run PCC2007 @ fullhd, full details, with 60AI and I SEE that rfactor.exe process eats up way over 2GB of my memory and I have all that without any patches then I don't see where that limitations are ;-)
    Of course such thing couldn't be possible at 32bit OS. Max what I could get at XP, was 23-24AI with that mod.



    Peter, "+fullproc" in most cases won't give you any fps gain. It might help in situations like sudden peak in CPU usage (like huge crash of dozens of cars or when your OS decided to do something that could noticably influence CPU usage in the background).
    The rig: Win 7 x64 Pro; Intel i3 540; Intel DH57JG; G.Skill 2x4GB; MSI GTX 780 Lightning 3GB; be quiet! Straight Power CM 600W; 2x Dell 22" U2209WA + 1x Dell 22" P2210; The gear: T500 RS + CSPv2;

  2. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    48
    Well,
    try run a mod with not just one car modell...
    Like VLN, with 100 ai opponents.

    All i can say is, it made a huge difference for me,
    and hundrets of other people apparently.

    You think you´re fine without it, good for you.

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    386
    I'm just curious, what are the other limitations because as I said, rF won't give me any errors (Visual C++ something... typical because not enough RAM at that case) even it use more than 2GB and that's without that patch.
    I'm also wondering, why I don't have such issue and others do?

    Quote Originally Posted by 6e66o View Post
    Well,
    try run a mod with not just one car modell...
    Like VLN, with 100 ai opponents.
    That actually doesn't matter, because it's only about crossing 2GB limitation that one process can use under 32bit OSes, and that you can easily check with one car model.
    The rig: Win 7 x64 Pro; Intel i3 540; Intel DH57JG; G.Skill 2x4GB; MSI GTX 780 Lightning 3GB; be quiet! Straight Power CM 600W; 2x Dell 22" U2209WA + 1x Dell 22" P2210; The gear: T500 RS + CSPv2;

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Prague / CR
    Posts
    274
    Quote Originally Posted by Peter View Post
    +fullproc didn't seem to make a noticeable difference to me.
    It does not improve max FPS noticeable. But make FPS drops less frequent due to balancing load between more cores.

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    386
    Now I'm confused because I just did test with rF and got error at about 1,7GB... On the other hand, I remember that I reached about 2,7GB (even took a screenshot to show that to my friend)... so, it looks like you are right and right now it's only possible with the patch!
    The rig: Win 7 x64 Pro; Intel i3 540; Intel DH57JG; G.Skill 2x4GB; MSI GTX 780 Lightning 3GB; be quiet! Straight Power CM 600W; 2x Dell 22" U2209WA + 1x Dell 22" P2210; The gear: T500 RS + CSPv2;

  6. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    48
    Quote Originally Posted by LesiU View Post
    it looks like you are right and right now it's only possible with the patch!
    Told ya.

    At least now there is a solution for it,
    and a very simple one it seems.


    Let´s see how rf2 deals with todays hardware,
    i hope it takes better advantage then rf1 does.

  7. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    386
    I dig a bit and yes, it's only about that one flag "IMAGE_FILE_LARGE_ADDRESS_AWARE".
    Because my previous tests was a long time ago (I think over 2 years ago or earlier), maybe that flag was present in older rF patches and in the newest (let's call them that way ;-) ) is not?
    The rig: Win 7 x64 Pro; Intel i3 540; Intel DH57JG; G.Skill 2x4GB; MSI GTX 780 Lightning 3GB; be quiet! Straight Power CM 600W; 2x Dell 22" U2209WA + 1x Dell 22" P2210; The gear: T500 RS + CSPv2;

  8. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    48
    Maybe.
    I heard various people saying that older rf versions (pre 1.255) worked better with large grids.

  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    435
    Quote Originally Posted by Flaux View Post
    Will the nvidia fix also work with ati-cards? (I read the rfc-entry,...maybe I should just give it a try...)

    How does rfactor use the ram on an normal XP-computer?
    I saw larger gains on my ATI card then I did my old Nvidia card with this proxy dll.

  10. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    435
    Quote Originally Posted by Peter View Post
    I also have a Radeon 5850 and the fps fix gave me quite a boost. However not completely without problems. Sometimes the screen or some textures flicker, but it's not a big problem.

    +fullproc didn't seem to make a noticeable difference to me.
    I have been using this dll for a long time but very recently (Around C10.9 I think) I started getting flickering. I only get it in the UI when I first start the game or when I first exit to the monitor. It flickers for a few secs then stops. But I am not getting flicking on track. Is this the same thing you are experiencing?

Similar Threads

  1. rFactor Tweaks Post what you find usefull in Tweaking rfactor
    By Tripp in forum rFactor 1 Technical Support
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 08-26-2015, 02:49 PM
  2. Better performance needed
    By TIG_green in forum Hardware Building/Buying/Usage Advice
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 11-19-2012, 03:23 AM
  3. GTX 680 very slow performance with SLI
    By Frankalexandre in forum Hardware Building/Buying/Usage Advice
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-27-2012, 02:11 PM
  4. AI Tweaks
    By Kendo1978 in forum rFactor 1 General Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-23-2012, 10:03 AM
  5. Some Input on Performance
    By MidNite in forum Hardware Building/Buying/Usage Advice
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-03-2012, 01:50 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •