NOTICE Notice: This is an old thread and information may be out of date. The last post was 1534 days ago. Please consider making a new thread.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 26

Thread: What's the best graphic card for rFactor 2?

  1. #1
    Newer Member Tomy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    13

    What's the best graphic card for rFactor 2?

    Hello, can anyone tell me what GPU works best with rFactor 2 beta, please?

    AMD HD7970 vs NVIDIA GTX680

    Right now, does anyone know if the game supports SLI/CrossFireX?


    THX!

  2. #2
    Banned CdnRacer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Guess
    Posts
    1,806
    From what I hear the Nvidea users are claiming performance and graphics/looks. I can't comment on the sli crossfire. Check out the rFactor2 forums, there is plenty of info there on graphics cards and such.

  3. #3
    Registered Ricoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    52
    I play rFactor 2 at 1600x1200 with full options (HDR on and AA level 7) with a two years old GTX275 and a E7200 2.53@3.8 GHz.

  4. #4
    Newer Member mavness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    9
    I have an ATI 5950 HD, the one with 6 outputs, 6gb ram, ssd, i7 3.4 ghz, outputting on 3 monitors. The game looked like it was early PS2 graphics. I did some googling, found that there are some pre-certified drivers, i got those. Game now looks incredible but runs choppy. I cant believe that this card that does 6 outputs is having issues with this game. Just an upgrade of drivers made the game go from crap to gorgeous. I want to wait until the game is out before leaping to buy a card because im sure things will change (in terms of compatibility also prices of cards) but I want to play now! haha someone help me!

  5. #5
    Banned DurgeDriven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Sydney, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    6,244
    Guys, he is NOT asking about a 5950 or GTX275

  6. #6
    Registered Tiger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    French Alps
    Posts
    219
    with the budget you have go for a Nvidia 680, you won't be disapointed

  7. #7
    Registered Ricoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    52
    Quote Originally Posted by DurgeDriven View Post
    Guys, he is NOT asking about a 5950 or GTX275
    You should have understood that my comment was to confirm that Nvidia runs well rFactor 2. Open your mind and shut your mouth.

  8. #8
    Registered ORA-Quasi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Posts
    126
    Unbelievable how pretty much every thread has to turn into a slinging match.

    Tomy, at this stage of release the graphic enhancements for RF2 are yet to be implemented. Either ATI or nVidia will do a great job when these enhancements are put in place, and any difference in end result, between the two should be minimal. Buy whatever you are comfortable with, although it would be hard to go past the GTX680 (No nVidia fanbois here I have an ATI HD 6950).

    Although, I'm pretty keen on the EVGA GTX560 Ti 2Win, which is a dual GPU card that appears to be out performing everything except the GTX590 and HD6990 (both also dual GPU).

  9. #9
    Banned DurgeDriven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Sydney, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    6,244
    Slinging what ?

    There was no reason to be rude though.

  10. #10
    Newer Member Raph4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    France
    Posts
    19
    I have switched from Asus ENGTX295 to Asus ENGTX680-2GD5
    I have never buy AMD/ATI.

    Asus ENGTX680 is very good, and silent!
    You can easily play rF2 with full opt-in without one lagg

  11. #11
    ISI Staff Staff Tim Wheatley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    USA (Central)
    Posts
    10,752
    Quote Originally Posted by Ricoo View Post
    You should have understood that my comment was to confirm that Nvidia runs well rFactor 2. Open your mind and shut your mouth.
    Or maybe he shouldn't have understood? Maybe he's a human being and should be spoken to like one, by one.

  12. #12
    Banned DurgeDriven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Sydney, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    6,244
    I understood Tim.

    He was not looking for opinions from owners of "old" cards.

  13. #13
    Newer Member RSR_Shags's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by DurgeDriven View Post
    Slinging what ?

    There was no reason to be rude though.
    Live and let live?

  14. #14
    Registered Max Attack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    155
    Quote Originally Posted by Tomy View Post
    Hello, can anyone tell me what GPU works best with rFactor 2 beta, please?

    AMD HD7970 vs NVIDIA GTX680

    Right now, does anyone know if the game supports SLI/CrossFireX?


    THX!
    I run rf2 with a 7970 on 3 x 24" @5760 x 1080 and it goes very well.

    I also run the superior AMD cpu
    Always Maximum Attack !

  15. #15
    Banned coops's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    aussie
    Posts
    1,600
    560ti nivida or wait till full release b4 buying a better card than the 560ti.... i run 2x 560ti 3 screens and no probs getting better all the time with rf2. but would wait till full release if i was updating

  16. #16
    Registered can`t wait 4 rF2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Germany, Hamburg; Support my local heroes
    Posts
    111
    nVidia, nothing else....
    regards
    Thomas

  17. #17
    Newer Member Rich_hard1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    13
    Nvidia cards seem to run RF2 at better FPS than AMD cards.

    I'm running 2 x HD5970's in Crossfire, RF2 doesn't yet support SLI or Crossfire based cards but will do eventually.

    My advice is to go for the Nvidia Card.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

  18. #18
    Registered Max Attack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    155
    I love the rivalry between the loyal ATI & Nvidia owners. It reminds me of AMD and INTEL owners. lol
    Or Chev vs Ford.

    So long as we all get to have a driving experience, thats all that matters.
    Now where's my new driver.. hehehehe
    Always Maximum Attack !

  19. #19
    Banned coops's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    aussie
    Posts
    1,600
    Quote Originally Posted by Rich_hard1 View Post
    Nvidia cards seem to run RF2 at better FPS than AMD cards.

    I'm running 2 x HD5970's in Crossfire, RF2 doesn't yet support SLI or Crossfire based cards but will do eventually.

    My advice is to go for the Nvidia Card.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

    RF2 does not support sli or crossfire??????????????? proof pls

  20. #20
    Registered Max Attack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    155
    Quote Originally Posted by coops View Post
    RF2 does not support sli or crossfire??????????????? proof pls
    Yeah, i bet it does run under cf or sli.
    RF2 wouldn't know it was how many gpu where running?
    I'm going to give it a test on monday.
    Always Maximum Attack !

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •