NOTICE Notice: This is an old thread and information may be out of date. The last post was 1476 days ago. Please consider making a new thread.
Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 114

Thread: Windows 8

  1. #1
    New Member jwkj101401's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    3

    Windows 8

    I know I know its preview but I wanted to test it out and have only found 1 issue. Rfactor will not launch, it installs fine but fails to launch. Tried all different compatibility settings but none work(also tried run as admin). I think I have found the issue but not sure how to fix or if ISI will have to make a work around which im sure they wont do since rfactor2 is out.

    It looks like rfactor is unable to create a trymedia folder on pc. This may be just a symptom and not root cause but unsure. Checked all normal directories, program data, all user app data, specific user's app data folder and none contain trymedia folder, and yes i made sure I could see all hidden folders and system folders

    Anyone else try rfactor on windows 8 and if so have any success with resolving it?

    btw using x64 version, and amd preview drivers for windows 8. Rfactor 2 Runs fine.

  2. #2
    Registered buddhatree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Dudebro, California
    Posts
    1,502
    I have rF1 running on Windows 8. All you need to do is manually put the trymedia folder from your previous install in the correct location.

  3. #3
    New Member jwkj101401's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by buddhatree View Post
    I have rF1 running on Windows 8. All you need to do is manually put the trymedia folder from your previous install in the correct location.
    which directory ? i have tried them all

  4. #4
    Newer Member Hiatt66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    19
    I get the same thing exactly. I also have arca and it runs fine. I am running the 64 bit version of windows 8 consumer preview. Rfactor 2 runs ok. Stock car Evolution 2012 will not start either.

  5. #5
    Newer Member Hiatt66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    19
    Installed 32 bit windows 8 CP and I get a working rFactor. Don't know why it doesn't work in 64 bit.

  6. #6
    Registered ika's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Tbilisi
    Posts
    60
    hi guys so Wind 8 32 bit runing rf2? without probs? regards ika

  7. #7
    Newer Member Hiatt66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    19
    Yes....rF2 works in both 32 and 64 bit. It's just rF1 that has issues with 64 bit win 8 CP

  8. #8
    Registered ika's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Tbilisi
    Posts
    60
    thank you hiatt for respoding regards ika

  9. #9
    Newer Member Hiatt66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    19
    You're very welcome.

  10. #10
    Newer Member Hiatt66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    19
    I too am waiting on an update.

  11. #11
    Newer Member kevin lewis zilly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    14
    Which location??????????

  12. #12
    Newer Member Hiatt66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    19
    What do you mean?

    Quote Originally Posted by kevin lewis zilly View Post
    Which location??????????

  13. #13
    Newer Member kevin lewis zilly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    14
    in reference to buddahtree post on rf1 for windows 8 on where to put trymedia folder in which location

  14. #14
    Newer Member Hiatt66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    19
    The trymedia folder goes in the ProgramData folder. It's a hidden folder. I think he was using Windows 8 x86 and not x64.

    Quote Originally Posted by kevin lewis zilly View Post
    in reference to buddahtree post on rf1 for windows 8 on where to put trymedia folder in which location

  15. #15
    Former ISI Senior Programmer Jeremy Miller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    282
    Quote Originally Posted by MichaelBd39 View Post
    OK,so we know where staff doesn't look,,

    Forums..

    .---Another month goes by
    those ungrateful jerks

  16. #16
    Registered Tosch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Hamburg, Germany
    Posts
    1,863
    Quote Originally Posted by Jeremy Miller View Post
    those ungrateful jerks
    lol

    Looks like some people are heavily developing rFactor2 and don't have time to support a 7 year old sim for a OS that nobody wants.

  17. #17
    Registered fobban's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    62
    Hi!

    I tried rFactor on Windows 8 RTM x64 the other day, and as you guys have stated it does not work. Nothing happens. I didn't have an old copy laying around so I couldn't copy the TryMedia stuff and see if that solved it.

    So, currently the only fix I found was to actually download the NoDVD crack and use that one. That doesn't feel "right", but as a paying customer I at least expect the software to work...

    DRM ftw.

  18. #18
    Newer Member Hiatt66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by fobban View Post
    Hi!

    So, currently the only fix I found was to actually download the NoDVD crack and use that one. That doesn't feel "right", but as a paying customer I at least expect the software to work...

    DRM ftw.
    So the NoDVD works for you eh? May have to give it a try.

  19. #19
    Knowledgable Person Noel Hibbard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    3,053
    Out of curiosity has anyone tried the G27 EXE posted here:
    http://downloads.rfactor.net/rFactor_G27Update.zip

    It still has TryMedia but maybe more up to date? Worth a shot. I am about to load W8x64 on my laptop. I will report back how it goes.

  20. #20
    Knowledgable Person Noel Hibbard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    3,053
    G27 version doesn't work either. I tried manually placing my TryMedia folder which also didn't work. The method others have pointed out did work though.

Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •