NOTICE Notice: This is an old thread and information may be out of date. The last post was 503 days ago. Please consider making a new thread.
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 32 of 32

Thread: GTX 970 "overheating" issues?

  1. #21
    Registered stonec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,508
    353.30 came out over a month before Windows 10 was released, so it has only been tested on a beta W10 version. The early Nvidia drivers had lots of issues together with W10, at least until September 2015, so it might not be the best one to use for those on W10.

  2. #22
    Registered WhiteShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    715
    Quote Originally Posted by stonec View Post
    353.30 came out over a month before Windows 10 was released, so it has only been tested on a beta W10 version. The early Nvidia drivers had lots of issues together with W10, at least until September 2015, so it might not be the best one to use for those on W10.
    Well, I rely don`t see what is your reason to make reply and add doubt about my posts. I can see that you have deleted your PC Specifications recently, have you bought second 970?

    I have over 300 games on Steam and I am running all of them with Win10 64 bit > Nvidia SLI > driver 353.30 > locked 120 fps without problems. 353.30 is the only driver which makes possible to play rFactor2 without tearing,stuttering or any other hick ups with locked 120 fps, triple screens and Nvidia SLI. Just to info I have three SLI rigs, GTX 680, 780ti and 980Ti which I have tested with rFactor2 > Nvidia SLI > driver 353.30 > triple screens > locked 120 fps and they are working fine without tearing,stuttering etc.

    I rely don`t know what is wrong with this community. I feel that community is afraid to ask ISI to improve graphic performance and get new updated Nvidia profile to this game. I also recall your reply when I did make effort to get updated Nvidia (SLI) game profile: http://isiforums.net/f/showthread.ph...l=1#post402459. Many people seem to believe that Nvdia game profile is nothing more then SLI profile and don`t realize that new profile gives improved game experience and FPS to all Nvidia card owners.

    Nvidia is the world's largest graphics card manufacturer and has approximately 70% of the sales and this is the support from ISI regarding SLI and it is from 2012.
    Joe Campana 12-20-2012 : "SLI - you'll probably have to use nvInspector until we get an updated profile." http://isiforums.net/f/showthread.ph...PU-performance


  3. #23
    Registered Hedlund_90's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,654
    I don't have Windows 10 yet, so that's just fine. I'll try out the 353.30 drivers tomorrow.. Thanks for trying to help! It's already working quite well.

  4. #24
    Registered Hedlund_90's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,654
    Quote Originally Posted by WhiteShadow View Post
    Unfortunately I didn't notice from your profile that you have 120 hz monitor (BenQ XL2420T). Input lag should not be a problem at all if your system can deliver 120fps game play. When I read you reply it makes me to believe that you can be able to play locked 120 fps with your system if you are using Nvidia driver 353.30 with SLI Compatibility Bits: 0x02D04005(LEGO Batman 2, etc)and if I was you I did give it a go.

    Download 353.30 : http://www.nvidia.com/Download/Find.aspx?lang=en-us
    Download and make clean install with Display Driver Uninstaller : http://www.wagnardmobile.com/forums/....php?f=5&t=273

    Nvidia Inspector > rFactor2 profile:
    SLI Compatibility Bits > 0x02D04005 (LEGO Batman 2, etc)
    Maximum pre-rendered frames > 1
    Power management mode > Preferer maximum performance.
    Important: Do only this don`t mess with other settings


    UserData > player folder and open player.JASON file and edit:
    "Max Framerate":120,
    "Max Framerate#":"0 to disable (note: positive numbers only, we always use the 'alternate' method now)",
    "Texture Sharpening":0,
    "Texture Sharpening#":"Sharpen textures using MIP LOD bias - 0=Off, 1=+2.0(very blurry), 2=+1.0(blurry), 3=-1.0(sharp), 4=-2.0(very sharp), 5=0.0(auto)",

    rFactor2 video settings:
    Mode > Fullscreen
    Anti Aliasing > 3-4
    HDR> on

    Inn Game > Options > Display:
    Circuit Detail > High
    Player Detail > Full
    Opponent Detail > High
    Texture Detail > High
    Texture Filter > X8
    Special Effects > Full/High
    Shadows > Low (This is FPS killer #1 in rF2)
    Shadow Blur > Off
    Soft particles > Off
    Rain Drops > Yes
    Road Reflection > Off (Off gives better fps)
    Environment Reflection > Off (Off gives better fps)

    I can confirm that these drivers and settings gave me 120 steady FPS, no drops at all Was it intentional to leavy v-sync off? Because I have some tearing but not as bad as I would have expected. I'll try to do something about it but if it doesn't work out well, this is actually playable after all. Thanks!

  5. #25
    Registered WhiteShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    715
    Quote Originally Posted by Hedlund_90 View Post
    I can confirm that these drivers and settings gave me 120 steady FPS, no drops at all Was it intentional to leavy v-sync off? Because I have some tearing but not as bad as I would have expected. I'll try to do something about it but if it doesn't work out well, this is actually playable after all. Thanks!
    Sounds good, try video as v-sync to get rid of tearing

  6. #26
    Registered WhiteShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    715
    @Hedlund_90 Did you know that your 690 beats 970 and 980 in gaming and graphics and if you like to upgrade you need to buy 980Ti or better? http://gpuboss.com/gpus/GeForce-GTX-...eForce-GTX-690

  7. #27
    Registered Hedlund_90's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,654
    Quote Originally Posted by WhiteShadow View Post
    @Hedlund_90 Did you know that your 690 beats 970 and 980 in gaming and graphics and if you like to upgrade you need to buy 980Ti or better? http://gpuboss.com/gpus/GeForce-GTX-...eForce-GTX-690
    Yes, I know. It was just that I haven't been able to take advantage of both gpu's, so one 970 seemed like a better choice, particularly since those 4GB could come in handy. To be able to make the most out of multi gpu setups one need the games to be optimized or finding the correct settings and tweaks, and sometimes I feel that is just too much of a hassle. But everything is working fine now. Hopefully I can get my money back for that faulty 970, otherwise hopefully getting a new one that I can sell.

    I probably going to keep my 690 for a while. I really love this card after all, even tho it's quite noisy

  8. #28
    Registered WhiteShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    715
    I don`t think 2 GB is a problem as long as you are using res. 1920x1080 but of course with 4K it is.

  9. #29
    Registered Emery's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Fiat Farm, Oregon
    Posts
    1,321
    Quote Originally Posted by WhiteShadow View Post
    I don`t think 2 GB is a problem as long as you are using res. 1920x1080 but of course with 4K it is.
    I think Matsusaka might be breaking 2 GB with a decent grid if you don't turn down track details.

  10. #30
    Registered stonec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,508
    Yep it is already breaking 2 GB VRAM with only a few cars when using full circuit and texture details. You can easily follow VRAM usage with a tool like GPU-Z.

  11. #31
    Registered WhiteShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    715
    Settings from my post #24, 16 visible cars, GTX 680 SLI, res 1920x1080 120hz/120fps max vram usage is 1860 mb at Matsusaka.

  12. #32
    Registered stonec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,508
    Yep, the keyword is full circuit/texture detail. AFAIK Matsusaka is the first rF2 track that will not fit to 2 GB VRAM with full details and a small grid. Thought it's just interesting to point out, since I assume the majority are still using 2 GB GPU's and might not understand how texture detail impacts VRAM usage.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •