NOTICE Notice: This is an old thread and information may be out of date. The last post was 582 days ago. Please consider making a new thread.
Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: New to rf2 - PC spec

  1. #1
    Newer Member Daz00004's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    13

    New to rf2 - PC spec

    Hi, looking to buy a PC (UK) to run RF2, won't be used for anything else and I'll be using the Logitech G29 wheel and shifter. Mainly I'll be going solo (not racing) to learn uk tracks. After a PC that will run RF2 at a decent rate and medium graphics, any suggestion would be helpful.
    Would rather buy a package as I'm not too familiar with PCs.
    Current have a 2014 Mac mini but I don't believe the on board graphic card will run RF2 (Intel HD Graphics 4000 1536mb). Thanks Darren

  2. #2
    Registered Juergen-BY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,245
    Wich budget you`re thinking about?
    English is not my native language. Please be patient ;-)
    Space Shooter for free ;-)

  3. #3
    Newer Member Daz00004's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    13
    Would love to say 300-400 but guess that won't get me anything that will run it

  4. #4
    Newer Member Daz00004's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    13
    Also will be using my 50 inch plasma if that makes a difference. Thanks in advance.

  5. #5
    Registered Juergen-BY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,245
    Quote Originally Posted by Daz00004 View Post
    Would love to say 300-400 but guess that won't get me anything that will run it
    Thats the problem...and you know...if you buy cheap, you`ll buy twice. I`m not sure about prices in uk, but in germany you have to pay maybe min. 1000 €. The next problem, you may buy now a "cheap" system, wich may can run rF2 on middle to low settings, but you dont know what would happen next year. Wich means, you dont get a minimum security of investment with those "cheap" systems. Thats why i wrote "you`ll buy twice"...
    English is not my native language. Please be patient ;-)
    Space Shooter for free ;-)

  6. #6
    Newer Member Georg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    25
    If you need a whole pc to start with, than you wont get anywhere with this money. Initially you need a solid base with a new socket which will last for long time.
    For exampe I bought a i5-2500k 4 years ago and since than I already replaced my graphic card 2 times from 2*GTX285 to gtx770 and now gtx970. The i5 is still doing good and not bottlenecking the system. So in the end I safed money over the years because I only needed to replace graphic card and not graphic card + new cpu + new mainboard

  7. #7
    Registered MikeeCZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    UK Dorset
    Posts
    1,182
    what resolution is the TV? 1080p? what stuff do you already have therefore doesnt need buying? Mouse, keyboard, case, HDD, powersupply? I believe that 500 quid would be realistic actually.. some GTX 960, some i5, 8gb ram.. shouuld run rF2 on 1080p with single car and medium details on pretty high FPS i think. no guarantees tho..
    If you dont have any of the things i mentioned.. add 100 quid.
    Im not 100% sure but i believe for 600 quid you would be able to get above mentioned rig

  8. #8
    Newer Member Daz00004's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    13
    TV is 1080p.
    PC wise, very minimal, mouse, keyboard and a logitech G29 wheel.
    Sounds like my budget is going to be blown away, so if i was thinking 600, would that work..

    Other option is bootcamp my mac mini (2014, 2.3ghz quad intel 7i-3615qm, 16gb ram, on board HD 4000), will run windows 7 but seem to get some people saying the on board card will work and others saying it won't, ill start a new thread to see if anyone has tried it (

  9. #9
    Registered MikeeCZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    UK Dorset
    Posts
    1,182
    Absolutely no idea about the Mac question mate, never ever even owned an apple. From the specs stated your issue would be the GPU, i really dont think and onboard GPU can keep up, but i might be wrong

  10. #10
    Newer Member Daz00004's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    13
    Found a old work PC:
    Windows 7
    Intel 2 Due E7500 2.93
    4GB RAM 32 bit
    Radeon HD 3450 (VGA output, not HDMI)

    Think my only option until I can get the funds is get a new graphics card with HDMI out and run rFactor 1 ( as im guessing everything on the above PC would need upgrading the run RF2

  11. #11
    Registered Juergen-BY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,245
    I guess, if you put into this system a new (or used) gfx card, your serious bottleneck would be the old dual core...You need at least (for rF2) a x64 system with 8GB ram or more.
    English is not my native language. Please be patient ;-)
    Space Shooter for free ;-)

  12. #12
    Newer Member Daz00004's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    13
    Found a slightly better PC:
    Dell optiplex 790 (not the mini case)
    Intel i3 2120 3.3ghz
    Windows 7 64bit
    4gb ram (can get another 4gb easy)
    265w power supply

    Would just adding a graphics card and ram be enough for single car rf2?

    Guess the real question is what card would fit/power?

  13. #13
    Registered Juergen-BY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,245
    I guess, it doesn`t matter, wich gfx you would buy. A new ps should be mandatory...

    For the gfx card itself, i would look for a gtx960 or 970, but the cpu doesn`t support pcie 3.0. Wich means, you wouldn`t get the max. performance out of your new gfx card.
    English is not my native language. Please be patient ;-)
    Space Shooter for free ;-)

  14. #14
    Newer Member Pben1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    10
    Daz,

    Trying to get rF2 up an running on these office machines really is n't gonna work out, you will need to upgrade most of the parts as there not gaming specs. Maybe look around for a used gaming PC is a better option at least you will have something to work from. Trust me I recently upgraded from an old XP machine to a new gaming box it's like night an day.
    Also in your other post you mentioned that you may consider a console, but if you wanna get the best out of it PC is the route to go down.

  15. #15
    Newer Member Daz00004's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    13
    Thanks for the reply. The console route was more out of desperation.

    I think I will use one of the work PC to run RF1 temporarily and then like you said, buy a second hand gaming PC that will RF2 with a single car and medium graphic.

    Next question, what should I be looking for to run RF2 in the secondhand market (looked in eBay and there seems to be lots.......)

  16. #16
    Newer Member Pben1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    10
    Gaming PC baseline specs , Intel Quad CPU / 400 watt Power / Nvidia GTX Card / 8gb memory

    Not much knowledge on AMD specs so others can help you with that.

  17. #17
    Registered Juergen-BY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,245
    Quote Originally Posted by Daz00004 View Post
    ...Next question, what should I be looking for to run RF2 in the secondhand market (looked in eBay and there seems to be lots.......)
    To keep it (easily) upgradable, i would look for a CPU/MB combo, wich supports pcie 3.
    English is not my native language. Please be patient ;-)
    Space Shooter for free ;-)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •