Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Problems activating rFactor after installing G27 Logitech trial

  1. #1
    ISI Staff Staff Tim Wheatley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    USA (Central)
    Posts
    10,752

    Problems activating rFactor after installing G27 Logitech trial

    There is an issue with the rfactor.exe that comes with the G27. See below on how to use the fixed exe.


    1. In My Computer->Tools->Folder Options view tab, enable "Show hidden files and folders".

    2. Delete the trymedia license folder located in "C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data" on Windows XP or "C:\ProgramData" on Vista/7

    3. Download the following rfactor.exe to enable the LED's on your G27 and save it to your rfactor installation folder.
    http://downloads.rfactor.net/rFactor_G27Update.zip

    4. Rename your current rfactor.exe to rfactor.exe.bak (if prompted with a warning that the file may not be usable after doing so, select YES to continue).

    5. Unzip the downloaded file into your rfactor folder

    6. Run rfactor. You should be prompted to purchase/activate or run the trial version of the game. If Windows states the file cannot be found it means the file was not extracted to the correct location (go back to previous step)

  2. #2
    New Member macka311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    2
    When I try to unzip the rFactor_G27Update.zip, I choose to extract it to C://Program Files/rFactor, an error occurs saying "File skipped unknown compression method."

    I just want to play :'(

  3. #3
    Registered Denstjiro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Okinawa/Holland
    Posts
    3,126
    Maybe the zip is corrupted, try downloading it again? (or find a d/l when it came from a dvd)

  4. #4
    Registered Foxtrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    168
    Hi.
    I just bought a G27 today, my old G25 died a while back.
    Can I put this new exe in my existing rFactor install and race, or will it make me reactivate.

  5. #5
    Knowledgable Person Noel Hibbard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    3,053
    You will not have to reactivate. One thing to look out for is this new EXE also fixes the reversed FFB. So sure to move the FFB strength slider into the positive side or else your forces will be all messed up.

  6. #6
    Registered Foxtrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    168
    Hello Mr. Hibbard.
    Thanks for your reply, it's working like a charm. I couldnt remember if I had any activations left and didnt want to get stuck waiting on a trymedia email.

  7. #7
    Registered Robert Gödicke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Braunfels, Germany
    Posts
    439
    Just a quick question on this:

    I got the Special Edition 2008 DVD version of rFactor, is there an updated executable for the DVD version as well?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •